C.I.MAR.E.    VANCOUVER BRANCH INVITES YOU TO JOIN THEM FOR AN INFORMATIVE WEBINAR

DATE: WEDNESDAY, MAY 12th, 2021

TIME: 18:00 Pacific (21:00 Eastern, 22:00 Atlantic, 22:30 NFLD)

Wartsila EEXI Engine Power Limitation Energy Efficiency Technology

Abstract: Synopsis: Planned to come into action in 2023 the proposed amendments to the MARPOL convention requires ships to combine a technical and an operational approach to reduce their carbon intensity. This is in line with the ambition of the Initial IMO GHG Strategy, which aims to reduce carbon intensity of international shipping by 40% by 2030, compared to 2008. The technical requirement to reduce carbon intensity, based on a new Energy Efficiency Existing Ship Index (EEXI); and the operational carbon intensity reduction requirements is based on a new operational carbon intensity indicator (CII).  The dual approach aims to address both technical (how the ship is retrofitted and equipped) and operational measures (how the ship operates). The attained Energy Efficiency Existing Ship Index (EEXI) is required to be calculated for every ship and in this webinar we will analyze the calculation and identify measures that will improve efficiency that will by extension improve the EEXI and CII.

Speaker:                 

Mark Keneford
General Manager, Marine Solutions, Wartsila

Mark Keneford has been with Wartsila for 10 years. Mark is responsible for Wartsila Marine Solutions sales across Canada and works with shipowners, design companies, shipyards and various regulatory and other marine stakeholders in addressing solutions to meet their challenges.

Contact: mark.keneford@wartsila.com, Mobile +1 514 247 5940

Read More